ESC Charter & Membership List

Committee Establishment and Authority	The Environmental Stewardship Committee (ESC) hereinafter referred to as the "Committee" provides tri-campus institutional leadership coordination over the development of the university's Sustainability Action Plan (SAP), climate and sustainability goals, and associated policies. The authority of the ESC will begin on October 5, 2023.		
Responsibilities	•		
Membership	See Membership List below		
Chair and Vice Chair	Chair: Vice President of Facilities Vice Chair: Rotating Faculty Member (nominated and voted on by the committee)		

Unit Lead/Staff Support	UW Sustainability Office			
Voting	Majority			
Quorum	60% of members			
Meeting Frequency	Quarterly			
Reports to	The President, Provost, and Board of Regents annually.			
Committee Member Obligations	To provide continuity of membership, members will serve a minimum of 3-year terms (2-year terms for students); there is no maximum term limit.			
	 Members may appoint a designated representative if they choose not to participate. 			
	Members shall attend all scheduled Committee meetings or will send a designated representative and notify the committee chair when circumstances prevent attendance of either.			
	Members will review meeting materials in advance of each Committee meeting.			
	 Members will identify conflicts of interest prior to participation and will recuse themselves from the discussions or decisions that may represent a potential conflict of interest. 			
	Members will safeguard the confidentiality and security of information obtained during their committee service.			
Committee	The Committee will meet quarterly to perform its duties.			
Administrative Matters	The annual schedule of meetings will be distributed at the beginning of each fiscal year. This schedule is updated as necessary.			
	A meeting agenda and any supplementary materials will be sent to Committee members at least two days in advance.			
	• Voting on matters shall take place when there is a Quorum of 60% in attendance.			
	Meeting minutes shall accurately record the attendance of Committee members and guests, topics discussed, recommendations made, and any votes taken.			

	 Official documentation of each meeting, including minutes, supporting handouts, and presentation materials, shall be maintained and distributed by the UW Sustainability Office on behalf of the Committee. The Committee will be staffed by The Director of the UW Sustainability Office. 	
Membership	ee proposed membership list below	
Review Date	June 1, 2024	

ESC Membership 2023-2024

* New to the committee

	UNIT REPRESENTATIVE	NAME
1	Vice President of Facilities	Lou Cariello
2	UW Director of Sustainability	Lisa Dulude
3	Dean, College of Arts and Sciences	Dianne Harris*
		Represented by:Gary
		Handwerk
4	Dean, College of Built Environments	Renée Cheng*
		Represented by:Rob Peña
5	Dean College of Engineering	
3	Dean, College of Engineering	Nancy Allbritton* Represented by:
		Rebecca Neumann
6	Dean, College of the Environment	Maya Tolstoy*
7	Dean, School of Public Health	Hilary Godwin*
′	Bean, Sensor of Lacite Hearth	Represented by: Jeremy
		Hess
8	Dean, Foster School of Business	Frank Hodge*
		Represented by: Phillip
		Bruner
9	Dean, School of Medicine	Timothy Dellit*
		Represented by: Julie
10	V' D '1 (C D'	Reid
10	Vice President for Finance	Brian McCartan
11	Vice President for Minority Affairs and Diversity	Rickey Hall
12	Director, UW Office of Regional and Community	Aaron Hoard*
10	Relations	C. T.
13	Associate Vice President, Asset Management, UW	Steve Tatge
1.4	Facilities Everytive Director Commun Engage Utilities and	Dave Weedson
14	Executive Director, Campus Energy, Utilities, and Operations, UW Facilities	Dave Woodson
15	1	Bob Simonton*
15	Director of Capital Planning Strategy, UW Office of	DOD SHIIOHOH
16	Planning and Budgeting Faculty Senate Representative (Chair of Faculty Council	Jan Wittington
10	on Campus Planning and Stewardship)	Jan Willington
17	Associated Students of the University of Washington	TBD
1 /	Representative	טעון
18	Graduate and Professional Student Senate	TBD
10	Representative	
	UW Bothell	
19	Facilities Services Representative	Martin Arroyo
	1 delited bet too Representative	1.12010111111030

20	Faculty Representative	Rob Turner
21	Student Representative	Faith Lambert
	UW Tacoma	
22	Facilities Services Representative	Stanley Joshua
23	Faculty Representative	Jim Gawel
24	Student Representative	TBD
	UW Medicine	
25	AVP Clinical Operations	Louise Simpson
26	Operations Representative	Juan Escalante*
27	Medicine Health Equity Committee Representative	Aric Ho*
28	Executive Director, Housing and Food Service	Pam Schreiber
29	Athletic Director, UW Athletics	Troy Dannen
		Represented by: Karen
		Baebler
30	Director of Transportation Services	Anne Eskridge
31	Senior Vice President, UW Advancement	Mary Gresch*
		Represented by: Chris
		Thompson
32	Earth Lab Executive Director	Ben Packard
33	UW Investment Management Company Representative	Keith Ferguson*
		Represented by: Alison
		Bromley
34	Campus Sustainability Fund Representative	Sohara Shachi
35	Student Sustainability Committee Representative	TBD