April 10, 2017

The 2017 Husky Green Award nominees include 19 individuals and seven groups from across the University of Washington who have shown a dedication to sustainability through their actions.

The Husky Green Awards are the only award program at the University of Washington which recognize a commitment to sustainability. The nominations are  made by students, faculty and staff to honor the top environmental leaders at all UW campuses.

The awards will be presented in a ceremony on Red Square on April 21 starting at 1 p.m. as part of the UW's Earth Day celebration. Please join us for this annual recognition.

UW Husky Green Awards are sponsored by the Environmental Stewardship Committee, which is responsible for guiding the UW’s Climate Action Plan goals. The award criteria include displaying environmental leadership, initiative and dedication. Several dozen students, faculty and staff have received Husky Green Awards since the program began in 2010.

2017 Husky Green Award nominees

Toni Baullinger, staff, Harborview Medical Center Hospital Pathology
Joseph Blake, student
Claudia Christensen, staff, Purchasing
Carrie Cone, staff, School of Environmental and Forest Sciences
Shelby Cramer, student
Nick Fang, student
Sarah Geurkink, staff, UW Farm
Kristine Matthews, faculty, Visual Communication Design
Cassie Maylor, student
Mac Robinson, student, EcoReps
Dean Seaman, staff, UW Recycling
Victoria Shao, student
Everett Spring, staff, Capital Planning and development
Bethany Staelens, staff, Continuum College
Wendy Star, staff, School of Environmental and Forest Sciences
Kristi Straus, faculty, Program on the Environment
Caroline Sullivan, student
Judy Twedt, graduate student, Atmospheric Sciences
Gene Woodard, staff, Building Services

ASUW Student Food Co-op
Campus Sustainability Fund
Facilities Services LED Lighting Team
Green Greeks
Livable City Year
UW Reycling
UW Solar